Husband Material – Harlequin Holiday Blog Tour – Winter 2020

551-07-Winter-Blog-Holiday-Blog-Tour-2020-640x247

#HarlequinPublishing #NetGalley #HusbandMaterial #romance #lovestory #booknerd #blogtour #reallifestruggles

 

Hey, hey book nerds!! I’m back with my final review for Harlequin’s Winter 2020 Holiday Blog Tour and I just have to say, this has been so much fun! Thank you to Harlequin Trade Publishing for this opportunity to be a part of the Blog Tour fun! I’ve read some pretty cute stories from this tour and they were all books that took me outside my comfort zone. I never believed myself to be a fan of romance reads, I think I had a stigma that they were always sicky sweet like Hallmark movies. But, since I’ve started this Blog Tour I’ve changed my opinion, especially with this last read. I felt that it focused so much more on women’s real life struggles than just another love story. So without further ado, here we go!!

 

Husband Material : A Novel 

Emily Belden

On Sale Date: December 30, 2019

9781525805981, 1525805983

Trade Paperback

$15.99 USD, $19.99 CAD

Fiction / Romance / Romantic Comedy 

304 pages

 

Summary:

Told in Emily Belden’s signature edgy voice, a novel about a young widow’s discovery of her late husband’s secret and her journey toward hope and second-chance love.

Twenty-nine-year-old Charlotte Rosen has a secret: she’s a widow. Ever since the fateful day that leveled her world, Charlotte has worked hard to move forward. Great job at a hot social media analytics company? Check. Roommate with no knowledge of her past? Check. Adorable dog? Check. All the while, she’s faithfully data-crunched her way through life, calculating the probability of risk—so she can avoid it.

Yet Charlotte’s algorithms could never have predicted that her late husband’s ashes would land squarely on her doorstep five years later. Stunned but determined, Charlotte sets out to find meaning in this sudden twist of fate, even if that includes facing her perfectly coiffed, and perfectly difficult, ex-mother-in-law—and her husband’s best friend, who seems to become a fixture at her side whether she likes it or not.

But soon a shocking secret surfaces, forcing Charlotte to answer questions she never knew to ask and to consider the possibility of forgiveness. And when a chance at new love arises, she’ll have to decide once and for all whether to follow the numbers or trust her heart.

 

Author Bio:

EMILY BELDEN is a journalist, social media marketer, and storyteller. She is the author of the novel Hot Mess and Eightysixed: A Memoir about Unforgettable Men, Mistakes, and Meals. She lives in Chicago. Visit her website at http://www.emilybelden.com or follow her on Twitter and Instagram, @emilybelden.

Advance Praise for Husband Material

“Tackling thorny questions of widowhood and dating after trauma, Belden’s second novel is witty, full of heart, and blindingly au courant. Packed with pop-culture references, it will appeal to fans of Sophie Kinsella, Rosie Walsh, and Plum Sykes. Belden writes twists and turns to keep readers hooked.” Booklist

“Charming.” Publishers Weekly

“Sensitive, thoughtful, and touching.” —Library Journal

“In this touching, witty, and timely book, Emily Belden deftly explores the complexities of human relationships in our increasingly tech-obsessed world. By turns heartbreaking and laugh-out-loud funny, Husband Material beautifully demonstrates that you can’t reduce love to a bunch of 1s and 0s.”

—Kristin Rockaway, author of How To Hack a Heartbreak

 

Buy Links:

Harlequin: https://www.harlequin.com/shop/books/9781525805981_husband-material.html

 

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Husband-Material-Emily-Belden/dp/1525805983

 

Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/husband-material-emily-belden/1129908343?ean=9781525805981#/

 

Indie Bound: https://www.indiebound.org/book/9781525805981

 

Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/husband-material-12

 

Google Books: https://books.google.com/books/about/Husband_Material.html?id=0sR6DwAAQBAJ

 

Social Links:

Author website: http://www.emilybelden.com/

Twitter: @emilybelden

Instagram: @emilybelden

Facebook: @emilybeldenauthor

 

– My Review –

I picked Husband Material by Emily Belden as my first read of 2020. I wanted to start the year off with something fun and light, and I am so glad I did because I really enjoyed it. Husband Material was such a dynamic story with heartbreak, heart melting moments, and humor. Within the first couple pages I was close to spitting my drink out from a funny line I read. Those are my favorite moments in books, where something is so funny you can’t help but physically react. There were a couple twists that threw me off (but in a good way!) and kept me intrigued needing to know what happened next. I loved the characters, especially the roommate Casey who had a totally opposite personality from Charlotte and added great character dynamics, as well and Charlotte’s Mother-in-law who actually surprised me by the end of the book.

I really loved seeing how Charlotte grew from the first page to the last. She overcame some really big life struggles that were completely relatable, and I felt that the ending was all wrapped up beautifully and tied with a bow by the end. It’s never fun when a book has a sloppy ending leaving you with questions, which this wasn’t one of those. The writing was easy flowing, almost to a point where I felt like I had a movie playing in my head. I love when that happens, don’t you? I will definitely be adding Emily Belden to my list of top authors to read! I can’t wait to read more of her books this year. If you’re looking for a lighter, endearing read then I definitely recommend Husband Material!!

Thank you for tuning in for my latest blog tour installment here at booksnbites! I have a review for another NetGalley ARC posting tomorrow, as well as my 2019 year in books.

 

Happy Reading! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s