Day Zero by Kelly Devos

Capture

#dystopian #apocalyptic #YAdystopian #survivalfiction #goodread #booknerd #netgalley #Inkyardpress

Hi friends! I’m back and following up with a review from one of the blog tours that I participated in for Inkyard Press, for Day Zero by Kelly Devos. This was such an edge of the seat read that it only took me a couple days to finish it, and lucky for me book two of the series releases this year!!

 

9781488038846

 

Description –

Don’t miss the exhilarating new novel from the author of Fat Girl on a Plane, featuring a fierce, bold heroine who will fight for her family and do whatever it takes to survive. Fans of Susan Beth Pfeffer’s Life As We Knew It series and Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave series will cheer for this fast-paced, near-future thrill ride.

If you’re going through hell…keep going.

Seventeen-year-old coder Jinx Marshall grew up spending weekends drilling with her paranoid dad for a doomsday she’s sure will never come. She’s an expert on self-heating meal rations, Krav Maga and extracting water from a barrel cactus. Now that her parents are divorced, she’s ready to relax. Her big plans include making it to level 99 in her favorite MMORPG and spending the weekend with her new hunky stepbrother, Toby.

But all that disaster training comes in handy when an explosion traps her in a burning building. Stuck leading her headstrong stepsister, MacKenna, and her precocious little brother, Charles, to safety, Jinx gets them out alive only to discover the explosion is part of a pattern of violence erupting all over the country. Even worse, Jinx’s dad stands accused of triggering the chaos.

In a desperate attempt to evade paramilitary forces and vigilantes, Jinx and her siblings find Toby and make a break for Mexico. With seemingly the whole world working against them, they’ve got to get along and search for the truth about the attacks—and about each other. But if they can survive, will there be anything left worth surviving for?

 

Review –

Day Zero is a YA Dystopian/apocalyptic novel in the truest sense. The opposing government parties are at the end of their ropes and starting to war with each other, and the main character Jinx Marshall and her father are at the very center of it all. It took me a few chapters to get into the story and really get a feel for the characters and what was going on, but once I did I couldn’t put the book down. I felt that Day Zero provided a very real picture to possible situations that could happen in our modern day world, and that in it’s own accord was terrifying!!

Some of the characters I found to be extremely annoying, but I believe they were written to be that way. Sisters are annoying, right?! I wouldn’t know because I only have an older brother. The plot line was fast paced, a little choppy and rushed at times, but it all added to the experience. The ending leaves you feeling thoroughly pummeled and full of emotion, but satisfied enough to wait for the sequel that you won’t feel like throwing the book across the room. All in all, this is definitely a must read for anyone who likes relatable dystopian stories.

 

 

Thanks for checking out another book review of mine. I’d love to hear if you’ve read the book and what your thoughts were. Or, if you have any other dystopian recommendations feel free to add them in the comments. 🙂

 

Positive Vibes and Happy Reading!

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s